Skip to Main Content

Native American Resources: Maps

"Carolina"  by  Herman Moll.  1732.  Courtesy of Library of Congress. https://www.loc.gov/resource/g3870.np000147/?r=0.372,0.254,0.371,0.17,0


We have a number of historic maps at the Library dating back the the 18th Century.  This page contains a list of those resources, and links to view online if available.  There are also a few we do not hold in our collection, but feel are important enough be included in this guide.  

Nicholas, Sanson. “Carte Particuliere De La Caroline.” David Rumsey Map Collection, Pierre Mortier, www.davidrumsey.com/luna/servlet/detail/RUMSEY~8~1~284755~90057237:Carte-Particuliere-de-la-Caroline-.

"CARTE PARTICULIERE DE LA CAROLINE"

Nicolas Sanson, 1708

This map, on display at the Charleston Library Society, shows the Lowcountry in 1708. The map displays the locations of many tribes including the Kiawah, the Wando, and Sewee tribes.

Lawson, Ion. “To His Excellency William Lord Craven Palatine; The Most Noble Henry Duke of Beaufort, The Right Honoble. Iohn Lord Carteret; The Honoble. Maurice Ashley Esq:; Sr. Iohn Colleton Baronet; Iohn Danson Esq:; And the Resto f the True and Absolute Lords Proprietors of Carolina in America This Map Is Humbly Dedicated by Ion. Lawson, Surveyor General of North Carolina.” Printed for J. Knapton, Andrew Bell, D. Midwinter, Will. Taylor, A. Collins, and J. Baker, 1711, jcb.lunaimaging.com/luna/servlet/detail/JCBMAPS~1~1~6177~115902300:To-His-Excellency-William-Lord-Crav.

ION LAWSON'S MAP OF CAROLINA, 1709

General map of the coasts of N. and S. Carolina, depicting "indian hutts" Along the upper Santee River.  A copy is available in the Library's map collection by request.

 

 

 


TUSCARORA WAR MAP


W. Noel Salsbury, 1715

This map shows troop movements, engagements, and Native American settlements during the Tuscarora War of 1711-1715.  The copy in our collection also includes a separate copy of Moll's map.  Available at the Library by request.

 

"A New Description of Carolina:
by Order of the Lords Proprietors"

John Ogilby and James Moxon, 1672

Made to help promote the settlement of the Carolinas, Ogilby based this map on John Lederer's map and his travels through the region. The map also is influenced by John Locke drawing information from his notes as Lord Ashley Cooper's secretary. It shows a general depiction of the Carolinas and includes the location of various Native American settlements. John Speed's 1676 map is directly based on Ogilby's.

 


Catawba Deerskin Map


This unique map is a copy of the original deerskin map presented to Governor Francis Nicholson in 1721. It features the general geographic location of many tribal groups in the South Carolina colony. However, experts believe this map is intended to depict trade relations over geographic location. More information can be found in this blog post from the Library of Congress.

Map

Purcell, Joseph. A map of the Southern Indian District of North America / compiled under the direction of John Stuart, Esqr., His Majesty's Superintendant of Indian Affairs, by Joseph Purcell, 1775. Map. Retrieved from  https://collections.carli.illinois.edu/digital/collection/nby_eeayer/id/3590.

"A Map of the Southern Indian District of North America"

Joseph Purcell, 1775

This map is composed of 13 pages and depicts the American Frontier at the start of the American Revolution. Pages 5 and 6 show the Carolinas and some Native American tribes in the area. However, more attention is given to the "Five Civilized Tribes" that includes the Cherokee, the Choctaw, Creek, Chickasaw, and Seminole. A copy is available in the CLS maps collection by request.

Mouzon, Henry, and Robert Sayer And John Bennett. An accurate map of North and South Carolina, with their Indian frontier, shewing in a distinct manner all the mountains, rivers, swamps, marshes, bays, creeks, harbours, sandbanks and soundings on the coasts; with the roads and Indian paths; as well as the boundary or provincial lines, the several townships, and other divisions of the land in both the provinces. London, Printed for Robt. Sayer and J: Bennett, 1775. Map. Retrieved from the Library of Congress, <www.loc.gov/item/gm71002153/>.

"AN ACCURATE MAP OF NORTH AND SOUTH CAROLINA WITH THEIR INDIAN FRONTIERS"

Henry Mouzon, 1775

This map, published in 1775, displays the Carolinas at the time of the American Revolution. Native tribes like the Cherokee and Creek are viewable in the west, while the original Catawba Indian Reservation is viewable on the border between North and South Carolina.

Click here to view a digital copy

Moll, Herman. “Carolina.” Atlas Minor , From the Collection of Tryon Palace Historic Sites & Gardens, New Bern, North Carolina; North Carolina Department of Cultural Resources, Division of Archive and History.,” 1729, newbern.cpclib.org/digital/TP1989006001.html.

"CAROLINA, SHOWING TRADING ROUTES AND INDIAN TRIBES"

Herman Moll, 1729

This map depicts locations of local tribes and engagements with English troops, first published in Herman Moll’s Atlas Minor (London, 1729), Plate 50. A copy is available in the Library's map collection by request.

Drayton, John. “ A Map Shewing the Marches of the Army Under Col. Andrew Williamson in 1776 Against the Cherokee Nation of Indians.” "Memoirs of the American Revolution: From Its Commencement to the Year 1776 Inclusive . . ." , vol. 2., A. E. Miller, 1821, dc.lib.unc.edu/cdm/ref/collection/ncmaps/id/629.

"A MAP SHEWING THE MARCHES OF THE ARMY UNDER COL. ANDREW WILLIAMSON IN 1776 AGAINST THE CHEROKEE NATION OF INDIANS"

John Drayton, 1821 

This map shows forts, Indian Towns, and Battlefields during the Campaign against the Cherokee in 1776.  The area depicted lies in the upper portion of our state north of the Saluda River.  It also includes portions Georgia and North Carolina.  A copy is available in the Library's map collection by request.

 "PORTION OF MAP OF N. AMERICA COPIED FOR JOHN P. THOMAS JR. FROM MANUSCRIPT MAP VOL. 7 NO. 27 BOARD OF TRADE MAPS, LONDON"

 

W. Noel Salsbury, 1715

Map gives a wealth of informaton regarding Native populations at the time and their movements.  Examples include "Coosa huts" shown on North Bank of the Savannah River, a note inscribed between the Edisto & Santee Rivers stating "the indians deserted in 1715" and another that says "Parachucola Indians removed in 1715 to Catahoochie river".  This map from 1890 is available in the Library's map collection by request.

  

"An Accurate Map of North America"

Emanuel Bowen, 1755

Shows boundaries, cities and towns, roads, forts, missions, some industries, trails, trade routes, portages, and vegetation. Also shows Indian villages and tribal territories, routes of navigation in the Gulf of Mexico, and navigational hazards along the coast.  A copy is available in the CLS maps collection by request.

 

THE SOUTHEAST IN EARLY MAPS

William Cummings, 1958

First published in 1958, The Southeast in Early Maps is William Cumming's classic study of the mapping of the Southeast before the American Revolution. By analyzing printed and manuscript maps of the area in the light of other contemporary primary documents, the book traces the expansion of geographical knowledge about the Southeast over the course of its discovery and colonization. With 124 illustrations--including a new gallery of 24 color reproductions of maps selected from the Cumming Collection in the E. H. Little Library at Davidson College--this stunning edition will be a valuable reference for scholars, collectors, cartographers, geographers, historians, archaeologists, archivists, librarians, genealogists, and surveyors. It features an introductory essay on the early historical cartography of the region, an extensive annotated checklist of printed and manuscript local maps from the colonial period, an updated bibliography, and a new section on the role of Native Americans in the mapping of the Southeast.