LibGuides: Native American Resources: Early Statehood to Modern Day

PRIMARY SOURCES

Below are primary source works available at CLS which pertain to Native Americans in South Carolina from the 1800's-today.

Historical and Statistical Information Respecting the History, Condition, and Prospects of the Indian Tribes of the United States by Schoolcraft, Henry Rowe Congress commissioned Schoolcraft to compile a comprehensive study on Native Americans including history, anthropology, languages, culture, and religion. Vols. 2-4, and 6 contain information on the Waxhaw, Congaree, Catawba, and Waccamaw tribes. He published his groundbreaking research in six volumes, five of which are available at the Charleston Library Society. Digital copies can be found at: https://library.si.edu/digital-library/book/historical-and-statistical-information-respecting-the-history-condition-and-prospects-of-the-indian-tribes-of-the-united-states
Call Number: E.B. F80D Sch6 Oversize v. 1-5

Publication Date: 1851-1857

Click here for a digital copy

Circular of Information Regarding Indian Popular Names. by Smithsonian Institution. Bureau of American Ethnology. This short pamphlet lists common Native American names and their meaning. While it is limited to larger tribes like Cherokee and Dakota, this resource provides a great starting point for those interested in learning basic words in indigenous languages. A digital copy can be found at:https://library.si.edu/digital-library/book/circularofinform00smith
Call Number: Pm.Misc. v.30 0

Publication Date: 1915

Click here for a digital copy

History of the Old Cheraws by Alexander Gregg This book describes the early history of the Cheraw and the Pee Dees. Parts of the book focus on diplomacy between the tribes and the government of South Carolina. A digital copy can be found at: https://hdl.handle.net/2027/nc01.ark:/13960/t9765kv6j
Call Number: H.C. F86.6 G86.1

Publication Date: 1867

Click here for a digital copy

History of the Indian Tribes of North America by McKenney, Thomas L. (Thomas Loraine), 1785-1859. Three-volume set of folios detailing the portraits and biographical information of Native American leaders who visited Washington, D.C. during the 1830s-40s to meet with politicians. Contain 121 hand-colored lithographs.
Call Number: H.C. F80D M19 Folio

Publication Date: 1836-1844

Click here for a digital copy

Travels in the Interiors of North America by Maximilian Prinz zu Weid; Karl Bodmer In 1832, Maximillian Prince of Wied travelled with Swiss Painter Karl Bodmer across North America, capturing the customs, of the Native Americans. This book reproduces the complete original colour version of the men's observations and drawings.
Call Number: H.C. F80D M45 Oversize

ISBN: 9783822812457

Publication Date: 2001-05-29
Say We Are Nations by Daniel M. Cobb Contains Fred Sanders' testimony to Congress about federal recognition for the Catawba Also has short speech from member of the Lumbee tribe in NC
Call Number: JO Sa9

ISBN: 9781469624815

Publication Date: 2015-09-24
Dictionary of Indian place-names in upper South Carolina. by Pickens, Andrew Lee A proper index of Native American place names in the Upcountry of South Carolina
Call Number: (S.C.Pm.Misc. v.18 0)

Publication Date: 1937

EDISTO-NATCHEZ-KUSSO

Possible Connections Between the Catawba Nation and Indian Families (Creel, Clark) in the South Carolina Low Country, in the Light of Catawba Business Trips to the City of Charleston After the Revolutionary War by Taukchiray, Wes Indian Place Names in St. Andrews Parish that admit of linguistic analysis ; A partial biography of William Clark ; Ben Hughes as a local and as a neighbor to Creeltown ; Material cultural of the Creels at Creeltown Indian Community north of Cottageville ... ; Affidavits identifying Creeltown and Four Holes as American Indian communities and relating to the years from 1916 to 1966 ; Federal records identifying the children of Four Holes as Indian in 1967
Call Number: H.C. F80D T19

Publication Date: 2009

Click here for a digital copy

Some of the written memory of the Natchez-Kussoo Indians of Edisto River by Taukchiray, Wes Written as part of the 'historical overview' portion of the tribe's petition for recognition."
Call Number: H.C. F80D T19

Publication Date: 1982
Indian people of the Edisto River : a brief history of the Kusso-Natchez Indians, often called "Edistos" by McManis, Herb
Call Number: S.C.Pm.Misc. v.143

Publication Date: 1985

HISTORIES

Below are books that include the history of Native Americans in our state through modern times.

The Indians' of the Southeastern United States by John R. Swanton An in depth look at Native American tribes in the South Eastern United States.
Call Number: F80D SW2

ISBN: 0403000505

Publication Date: 1946

Click here for a digital copy

South Carolina Indian lore by Bierer, Bert W. A well done general history of Native Americans within the state of South Carolina
Call Number: H.C. F80D B47 Oversize

Publication Date: 1972
Topics in the History of South Carolina by Rivers, J.F. A detailed history specific to Native American's in South Carolina. Author did a good job of applying and citing primary sources. Begins with first contact and ends at the time of publication (1850ish)
Call Number: Hin Col F86.6 R52

Publication Date: 1850
As Long as the Waters Flow: Native Americans in the South and the East by Gaillard, Frye and DeMeritt, Carolyn "As Long as the Waters Flow" takes an honest look at the problems facing the Southern and Eastern tribes and celebrates the people who continue to maintain their Native identity despite the pressures of the dominant culture" This source contains photographs and short chapters on the state of Catawba, Cherokee and Lumbee Indians in the 1990s.
Call Number: F80D G12.1

Publication Date: 1998

THE CATAWBA TRIBE

History and condition of the Catawba Indians of South Carolina by Scaife, Hazel Lewis This pamplet looks at the overall condition and decline of the tribe since the arrival of European settlers to the area. It contains a full transcript of the Treaty at Nations Ford.
Call Number: Pm.Misc. v.22

Publication Date: 1896

Click here for a digital copy

The Catawba Indians of South Carolina by Bradford, Willam Rufus This is a short general history of the tribe. Its first pages discuss a private collection of 6,000 artifacts, and it includes several photographs of some of the items. It also includes the state acts published in 1947 titled "Memorandum of understanding between the state of South Carolina, the Catawba indian tribe, and the Office of Indian Affairs of the United States Department of the Interior"
Call Number: S.C.Pm.Misc. v.126

Publication Date: 1948

Click here for a digital copy

Catawba Indian Pottery by Thomas John Blumer; William L. Harris (Foreword by) When Europeans encountered them, the Catawba Indians were living along the river and throughout the valley that carries their name near the present North Carolina-South Carolina border. Archaeologists later collected and identified categories of pottery types belonging to the historic Catawba and extrapolated an association with their protohistoric and prehistoric predecessors. In this volume, Thomas Blumer traces the construction techniques of those documented ceramics to the lineage of their probable present-day master potters or, in other words, he traces the Catawba pottery traditions. By mining data from archives and the oral traditions of contemporary potters, Blumer reconstructs sales circuits regularly traveled by Catawba peddlers and thereby illuminates unresolved questions regarding trade routes in the protohistoric period. In addition, the author details particular techniques of the representative potters--factors such as clay selection, tool use, decoration, and firing techniques--which influence their styles. Includes an introduction from William Harris.
Call Number: WM B62

ISBN: 0817350616

Publication Date: 2003-12-22
The Catawba Indians: the People of the River by Brown, Douglas Summers Brown was the first to dedicate an entire book to the history of the Catawba tribe. In doing so she provides background for research on Catawbas and related tribes in the region. The book draws from historical, anthropological, and genealogical sources to tell the tribe's story from its earliest days up until the early 1900s.
Call Number: F80D B81.2

Publication Date: 1966
Natives in a New World: The Catawba Indians of Carolina by Merrell, James James Merrell's doctoral dissertation on the Catawba Indians. Spanning two volumes, it looks at the various ways that the tribe adapted itself to a new world that involved European colonists and disease.
Call Number: F80D M55

Publication Date: 1982